Developer

Manish_Kumar

Specialties include Force.com, Javascript, and HTML5
Member since 10/09/12

VIEW PROFILE

A Journey To Talk About – 08/2013

Topcoder. This word was introduced to me in October of last year, and it brought a wave of excitement, and changes to me and my way of life.

Not less than eight months before that October, I was a hardcore Biotech Graduate, who hated the old school boring lab work, playing with test tubes and DNAs. Somehow, I got into an IT firm just after concluding my studies (don’t ask how) and boom; was blasted with so many new things. I did study some Java and C as part of my coursework in my first year or so, but that alone would have not kept me alive at my company for more than a year.

However, after some initial training, and refreshing of my limited knowledge, I realized I liked what I was about to be doing. I mean it was not boring like those microbiology experiments, where you had to wait and wait and wait for a color to change. It was quick, fast and responsive; you could see everything you’ve done, on the screen right then and there. Wow, all this new, unfamiliar work, attracted me, took all my attention and I started really enjoying it.

Once the training period was over, I was lucky enough to be placed into Salesforce development (we were not given a choice). At first I was very confused, and thought, “Salesforce!? Is it a marketing job or what? Are we going to be a small force of salesmen selling software?” Silly, I know, but I had never heard that term before. (Funny now though!) The more I started learning about Salesforce, the more excited I got, and eventually, ended up clearing the Dev exam. After that, I got into the usual project stuff, developing apex, and visualforce, and what not.

One fine day, I was stumbling around, and saw this quote saying “…where the rubber meets the code”, which made me look around even more.